@ IMECE 2017


ASME’S International Mechanical Engineering Congress and Exposition (IMECE) is the largest interdisciplinary mechanical engineering conference in the world. IMECE plays a significant role in stimulating innovation from basic discovery to translational application. It fosters new collaborations that engage stakeholders and partners not only from academia, but also from national laboratories, industry, research settings, and funding bodies.

About Charles T. Main Award

The Charles T. Main Award was established in 1919 in honor of the 37th President of ASME. In 1983, the award was expanded to include a second-place award.

This award will be given to undergraduate ASME Student members whose leadership and service qualities have contributed, for a period of more than one year, to the programs and operations of a Student Section of the Society, to his/her department activities and other related activities.

The nomination for this award would be expected to substantiate the leadership and service qualities of the nominee by reference to the nominee’s Student Section offices, organizational assignments, creative programs and activities, and community service.

First place is bestowed upon the undergraduate student who best meets the award criteria, while second place is awarded to the undergraduate student who is next best in meeting these criteria. In addition up to 8 honorable mentions will be presented to qualified candidates.


Form of Award

  • $3000, gold medal (1st), certificate and travel expense supplement to attend the award presentation.


  • $2000, silver medal (2nd), certificate and travel expense supplement to attend the award presentation.Up to eight $500 honorable mentions to qualified candidates.



At IMECE 2017

8 students from the mechanical engineering department at FISAT attended the International Mechanical Engineering Congress and Exposition (IMECE) 2017 in Tampa, Florida from 3rd Nov to 9th Nov.

Team Endurance took part in the international finale of Student Design Challenge (SDC). They represented FISAT and India as one of the top three teams from the Asia Pacific region.





On the 5 th of November (EST) Mr Jithu Paulose, the third chairman of ASME FISAT Chapter was awarded the silver medal Charles T. Main award.

On the 6th of November (EST) Mr Sriram Sankar, the fourth chairman of ASME FISAT Chapter presented a technical paper as part of the conference proceedings. The paper was co-authored by Mr Nirmal Thomas and Mr Jithu Paulose.




Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *